Could you kill your best friend?

The tagline still sends chills down my spine. I just can’t honestly even think of it, however for 42 unfortunate youths, that very question was answered in the movie Battle Royale.

Yeah, I know it’s from 2000. I’m not good at finding things :P

Anywho, I just got finished watching it a few hours ago, and I’m amazed. I thought it was a great movie.

It stars Tatsuya Fujiwara (Light from the live action Death note movies (Also really good!)) as Shuya Nanahara.

The basic plot of the movie is, in the future, in Japan, there is 15% unemployment, and students don’t fear anything anymore. The parents, fearing the students, have the government set up a lottery that chooses a random 9th grade class to go to an island for 3 days and kill each other. They are given water, food, and a weapon (random, of course! And not just guns and knives, there are some real stinkers!) Also, the girls get…Personal items. And yes, that does sort of come into play in the movie. Anyway, If there is more than one person alive at the end of the three days, everyone dies. Also, they die via necklace. It explodes. Not enough to take off their head, but it cuts their jugular.

(Yeah, I don’t really understand how that solves the unemployment issue, honestly…)

The story is really well written, and because the actors are children (Not quite the age the characters are, but pretty close.) you never really cheer when someone dies. (Except for two by me. Those who’ve watched the movie probably know who I’m talking about!) There are confessions of love, and feelings of hate, by those who are hardly old enough to have crushes. And instead of it feeling cheesy, it feels very real. I was touched more than once during this movie, the reactions by some of the children were endearing, others…not so much. But they get their comeuppance…

Anyway, if you haven’t seen this movie yet, I think you should absolutely check it out. I know there’s at least one floating around Youtube. That’s where I saw it. I liked it so much, I’m probably gonna buy it.

Also, just for kicks, and to show you the awesomeness of the trailer, here it is!

Leave a Reply

