Cigars and AJATT – There’s a Similarity Somewhere

Hey, Brent here again.

And you’d better get a umbrella, cause it’s about to start raining cold hard facts up in this bitch. (Just always wanted to say that lol)

Now, I understand that I’m very….casual with my speech, both in English and in Japanese. Here’s the difference between the two: I don’t know when to be polite in Japanese!

I mean, I thought I did, but obviously I don’t lol. In fact, let me give you a very embarassing example:

I really like DABO. He’s easily in my top 5 favorite rappers ever, and top 2 in Japanese. And, as you may or may not know, I’ve started rapping (Gonna incorporate Japanese when I get better at it) So, I decided to send him a message on Twitter (@fudatzkee if you’re interested.) Here’s what mine said:

いつか、DABOと歌を作るがすきだ。DABO俺の気に入らラッパ、そうしてDABOと歌を作るはすげえぞ。俺下手日本語は、ごめん。暫くだ。

Now, if you’re at least vaguely familiar with Japanese, you’ll notice that 俺 is typically a big no-no. Also, I used very casual speech. But, I thought it was okay, seeing as he used it. I’ll tell you what he sent, and then explain the two things I think went wrong:

可愛いw でも気持ちは辛辣だ!RESPECT!

Kay, Aaaaaaand, here we go.

First off, I believe 俺 was bad, because I forgot he almost always uses 僕 when he types on Twitter. So, I was being WAY too close when he didn’t know me. Bad look lol. Also, the way I was talking (Saying he was my favorite rapper, asking to do a song someday) definitely warranted a 僕, or maybe even 私. Now you know me. I can’t stand 私, however, hindsight being 20/20, I think that may have been the best approach.

Either way, He’s at least more polite than English rappers, can’t even get a damn RT. Anywho.

You may be asking, what does any of this have to do with Cigars? I’m getting to that. Calm down.

Well, I like cigars, however, most people say it’s an acquired taste. Well, here’s are wonderful connection.

You’ve gotta smoke cigars to enjoy cigars. You’ve gotta read/listen to REAL Japanese, before you can enjoy using Japanese.

Yeah, it’s kind of a long shot, but I was smoking a filtered cigar when I started this post, and it helped me come up with the title. So, After apoligizing to him, I’m gonna make tons of SRS cards from all of the Japanese people I’m following, along with most of @english_note’s tweets, and use that to help me make better judgement when sending messages to people.

And, in all honesty, it didn’t go that bad. I mean, he’s not mad, and I did get a RT to his followers, so yay. But I definitely gonna be using 僕 more often.

Well, I’ll be back next time with some new advice, or something cool.

 

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

