Ubuntu 10.10 – Finally a Competitor?

Yo, Brent here.

I’ve finally gotten around to downloading the new Ubuntu release – 10.10 Maverick Meerkat, and I have to say, I was floored by how easy everything was to set up the first time.

First, I made the USB, then it took less than a minute to get to the installation option. It looks much cleaner now, as well. I chose the install now option, and it just took a few clicks to get everything up and running.

When I first logged into the OS, I saw the improvements that had been made to the overall design, as well as changes in icons and themes.

Everything looks so crisp, and clean now, too.

Also, the default theme has your close, minimize, and maximize buttons on the left-hand side now. Which I must say was a change, but you can change it back by changing the theme.

Another thing that surprised me was that my wireless card worked from the start. I didn’t have to find drivers, I didn’t have to use the terminal to try and download some program and spend 20 minutes trying to get it to just download the damn driver…it worked instantly.

And…I prefer the IME to Windows. I use Anthy, and I switch from English to Japanese by using CTRL+Space. I don’t remember how that works in Window’s IME (I used CTRL+SHIFT, but I had to change the set-up from alphanumeric to hiragana everytime…>_>)

Honestly, if you haven’t tried Linux before because you thought it was going to be all terminal, or you didn’t wanna get bogged down learning all this stuff, You should really try Ubuntu 10.10. It’s a very polished OS, but it does exactly what it’s supposed to do.

Well…that’s all I got for now. Talk to you later!

じゃあ、またな!

Leave a comment